Daily Stats Summary

As I did for the Canadian trek, this is where I will maintain all the pertinent daily riding statistics like distance travelled, average speed, max speed and any other metrics of note.

For those who want to re-live the experience in more detail, I will also post links to the daily rides as captured by my Garmin Edge bike GPS (these links will require you to create a free Garmin account to view).

 

NEW ZEALAND

Day 1 & 2 – Wed. Apr. 19 & Thurs. Apr. 20 – Flight to Queenstown New Zealand

No cycling stats to report here, time was spent in transit from Toronto to New Zealand

Day 3, 4 & 5 – Fri. Apr. 21 to Sun. Apr. 23 – Queenstown

No cycling stats here either, time spent getting my bearings adjusting to some jet lag, bus tour to Milford Sound, picking up groceries, supplies, etc

Day 6 – Mon. Apr. 24 Queenstown to Wanaka

Daily Distance 69.83km, Total Distance 69.83km, Elevation Climbed 1077m, Average Moving Speed 12.5km/hr

Day 7 – Tues. Apr. 25 – Cycled Wanaka to Makarora, drove Makarora to Haast

Daily Distance 62.00km, Total Distance 131.83km, Elevation Climbed 713m, Average Moving Speed 14.8km/hr

Day 8 – Wed. Apr. 26 – Cycled Haast to Bruce Bay, drove Bruce Bay to Fox Glacier

Daily Distance 86.92km, Total Distance 218.75km, Elevation Climbed 570m, Average Moving Speed 17km/hr

Day 9 – Thurs. Apr. 27 – Fox Glacier to Franz Josef Glacier

Rest day, decided to catch a ride with my parents

Day 10 – Fri. Apr. 28 – Drove Franz Josef Glacier to Kakapotahi, cycled Kakapotahi to Greymouth

Daily Distance 87.08km, Total Distance 305.83km, Elevation Climbed 323m, Average Moving Speed 20.6km/hr

Day 11 – Sat. Apr. 29 – Cycled Greymouth to 18km North of Punakaiki, drove from there to Westport*

*Cycle portion split into two rides on Garmin:

Greymouth to Punakaiki

Punakaiki to 18km North of Punakaiki

Daily Distance 58.02km, Total Distance 363.85km, Elevation Climbed 639m, Average Moving Speed 16.8km/hr

Day 12 – Sun. Apr. 30 – Cycled Westport to Inangahua, drove Inangahua to Murchison

Daily Distance 48.32km, Total Distance 412.17km, Elevation Climbed 361m, Average Moving Speed 17.6km/hr

Day 13 – Mon. May 1 – Drove Murchison to Glenhope, cycled Glenhope to Nelson*

*Cycle portion split into two rides on Garmin:

Glenhope to Kohatu

Kahuto to Nelson

Daily Distance 72.77km, Total Distance 484.94km, Elevation Climbed 425m, Average Moving Speed 18.2km/hr

Day 14 – Tues. May 2 – Nelson

Rest day (wine tour) in Nelson

Day 15 – Wed. May 3 – Drove Nelson to Havelock, cycled Havelock to Picton

Daily Distance 39.9km, Total Distance 524.84km, Elevation Climbed 522m, Average Moving Speed 15.3km/hr

Day 16 – Thurs. May 4 – Picton to Wellington via ferry

Daily Distance 2.97km, Total Distance 527.81km, Elevation Climbed 10m, Average Moving Speed 8.3km/hr

Day 17 & 18 – Fri. May 5 & Sat. May 6 – Wellington

Rest and sightseeing days in Wellington

Day 19 – Sun. May 7 – Wellington to Paraparaumu

Daily Distance 56.57km, Total Distance 584.38km, Elevation Climbed 362m, Average Moving Speed 14.3km/hr

Day 20 – Mon. May 8 – Cycled Paraparaumu to Foxton, Drove Foxton to Whanganui

Daily Distance 66.51km, Total Distance 650.89km, Elevation Climbed 212m, Average Moving Speed 15.9km/hr

Day 21 – Tues. May 9 – Drove Whanganui to Ohakune

Sightseeing day

Day 22 – Wed. May 10 – Drove Ohakune to Taupo

Sightseeing day

Day 23 – Thurs. May 11 – Cycled Taupo to Broadlands, Drove Broadlands to Rotorua

Daily Distance 25.66km, Total Distance 676.55km, Elevation Climbed 144m, Average Moving Speed 17.4km/hr

Day 24 – Fri. May 12 – Rotorua

Sightseeing Day

Day 25 – Sat. May 13Rotorua to Matamata

Daily Distance 70.97km, Total Distance 747.52km, Elevation Climbed 429m, Average Moving Speed 18.1km/hr

Day 26 – Sun. May 14 – Matamata

Hobbiton tour

Day 27 – Mon. May 15Matamata to Miranda

Daily Distance 98.94km, Total Distance 846.46km, Elevation Climbed 72m, Average Moving Speed 19.0km/hr

Day 28 – Tues. May 16Miranda to Takanini

Daily Distance 69.60km, Total Distance 916.06km, Elevation Climbed 467m, Average Moving Speed 16.1km/hr

Day 29 – Wed. May 17 – Takanini to Auckland Airport

Daily Distance 24.35km, Total Distance 940.41km, Elevation Climbed 125m, Average Moving Speed 13.1km/hr

Day 30 & 31 – Thurs. May 18 & Fri. May 19 – Auckland and Coromandel Peninsula

No cycling, rented a car and toured around

 

AUSTRALIA

Day 32 – Sat. May 20Melbourne Airport to Melbourne

Daily Distance 24.93km, Total Distance 964.76km, Elevation Climbed 94m, Average Moving Speed 15.2km/hr